Ensemble ULYSSES


The Ulysses Ensemble is a brand new touring chamber ensemble created by the Ulysses Network. It is made up of young contemporary musicians, between 18 and 30 years old, from all over Europe. Over the summer of 2017 this ensemble get the opportunity to work with highly renowned composers and conductors, workshop new repertoire, perform with professional contemporary musicians and attend three of Europe’s leading contemporary music festivals, ManiFeste, Snape Maltings and Voix Nouvelles.

As part of IRCAM’s ManiFeste Academy, the Ulysses Ensemble will first be led by Heinz Holliger in a week of masterclasses focusing on key repertoire and a Yan Maresz’s piece with electronics. They will be joined by soprano Sarah Maria Sun and soloists of Ensemble intercontemporain who work alongside the students as well as perform in the final concert on Saturday 1 July. From 5th July to 14th July 2017, the Ulysses Ensemble will travel from Paris to Aldeburgh’s Snape Maltings to join six young composers and develop new music as well as prepare key repertoire pieces from the last 100 years. The final stop in the 2017 Ulysses Ensemble journey will be part of the Voix Nouvelles Academy at the Royaumont Foundation in France from 21st August to 26th August. Here the ensemble will work on a range of contemporary repertoire.

Zach Sheets, flutes
Hanna Weisbach, oboe
Rocío Bolaños, clarinets
Gleb Kanasevich, clarinets
Hae Won Oh Kim, bassoon, contrabassoon
Daniel Brottman, horn
Chloë Abbott, trumpet
Antonio Jiménez-Marín, trombone
Kaja Farszky, percussion
Corentin Marillier, percussion
Aleksandra Dzenisenia, cymbalum*
Alice Belugou, harp
Rahel Schweizer, harp
Baptiste Ramond, guitar
Perrine Galaup, mandolin*
Daniele Fasani, keyboards
Magdalena Cerezo Falces, keyboards
Jacobo Hernandez Enriquez, violin
Véronique Mathieu, violin
Alfonso Noriega, viola
Emilie Girard-Charest, cello
Nazarii Stets, double bass

*additional musician